All Posts By

DPDK

DPDK 19.08, Biggest Release of 2019, is Now Available

By | Blog

The latest major release of DPDK is now available, DPDK 19.08:  https://fast.dpdk.org/rel/dpdk-19.08.tar.xz. Arguably the biggest release of the year, DPDK 19.08 was a phenomenal community effort. 

The statistics – probably the biggest release of the year:

  •  1327 commits from 171 authors
  • 1631 files changed, 138797 insertions(+), 97285 deletions(-)

A list of new features, grouped by category, is included below: 

General:

  •    IOVA mode defaults to VA if IOMMU is available
  •    MCS lock
  •    better pseudo-random number generator
  •    Intel QuickData Technology (ioat) PMD
  •    non-transparent bridge (ntb) PMD

Networking:

  •   actions for TCP and GRE in flow API
  •   Broadcom Thor support in bnxt PMD
  •   Huawei (hinic) PMD
  •   Marvell OCTEON TX2 PMD
  •   shared memory (memif) PMD
  •   zero copy and multi-queues in AF_XDP PMD

Baseband:

  •  Intel FPGA LTE FEC PMD

More details available in the release notes: http://doc.dpdk.org/guides/rel_notes/release_19_08.html

There are 70 new contributors (including authors, reviewers and testers). Welcome to Abraham Tovar, Adam Dybkowski, Adham Masarwah, Aideen McLoughlin, Amit Gupta, Amrutha Sampath, Anirudh Venkataramanan, Artur Trybula, Ashijeet Acharya, Ashish Shah, Brett Creeley, Christopher Reder, Dave Ertman, Dilshod Urazov, Eli Britstein, Flavia Musatescu, Georgiy Levashov, Gosia Bakota, Grishma Kotecha, Grzegorz Nitka, Hariprasad Govindharajan, Henry Tieman, Jacek Naczyk, Jacob Keller, Jaroslaw Ilgiewicz, Jeb Cramer, Jesse Brandeburg, Jingzhao Ni, Johan Källström, John OLoughlin, Július Milan, Kalesh AP, Kanaka Durga Kotamarthy, Karol Kolacinski, Kevin Lampis, Kevin Scott, Lance Richardson, Lavanya Govindarajan, Lev Faerman, Lukasz Bartosik, Lukasz Gosiewski, Maciej Bielski, Marcin Zapolski, Mariusz Drost, Marta Plantykow, Mesut Ali Ergin, Michel Machado, Mohsin Mazhar Shaikh, Naresh Kumar PBS, Nicolas Chautru, Radu Bulie, Santoshkumar Karanappa Rastapur, Satha Rao, Sean Morrissey, Shivanshu Shukla, Sriharsha Basavapatna, Srinivas Narayan, Suanming Mou, Suyang Ju, Tao Zhu,Tarun Singh, Thinh Tran, Ting Xu, Tummala Sivaprasad, Vamsi Attunuru, Wenjie Li, William Tu, Xiao Zhang, Yuri Chipchev and Ziyang Xuan.

Below is the number of patches per company (with authors count):

    435     Intel (60)

   239     Marvell (19)

    164     Mellanox (15)

    109     Red Hat (5)

     84     Broadcom (10)

     77     Microsoft (2)

     51     Solarflare (7)

     28     ARM (5)

     25     NXP (6)

     24     6WIND (4)

     20     Huawei (4)

     12     OKTET Labs (3)

     11     Cisco (4)

      8     IBM (4)

      5     Semihalf (3)

      4     Netcope (2)

      4     Ericsson (1)

Based on Reviewed-by and Acked-by tags, the top reviewers are:

    134     Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>

    101     Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>

     67     Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>

     63     Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>

     44     David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>

     43     Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>

     38     Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>

     37     Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>

     34     Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>

     31     Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>

     31     Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>

     31     Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>

     29     Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>

     27     Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>

     25     Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>

     23     Xiaolong Ye <xiaolong.ye@intel.com>

     23     Fiona Trahe <fiona.trahe@intel.com>

     22     Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>

     20     Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>

     17     Gavin Hu <gavin.hu@arm.com>

     16     Shally Verma <shallyv@marvell.com>

     16     Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>

     16     Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>

     15     Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com>

 

What’s Next

The new features for the 19.11 release may be submitted during the next four weeks,

in order to be reviewed and integrated during September. DPDK 19.11 should be released at the beginning of November:  http://core.dpdk.org/roadmap#dates

In memory of Rami Rosen, we would like to encourage everybody to clean up and carefully review the DPDK documentation.

We’d love to see you at the DPDK Userspace event  in Bordeaux, France September 19-20. If you haven’t already, please register. More details here: https://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/dpdk-userspace-2019-bordeaux

Thanks to everyone in the broader DPDK community for you participation and contributions.

DPDK releases v19.05, introduces Windows Support!

By | Blog

This post originally appeared on the Microsoft Tech Community (Networking) blog, here: https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/Networking-Blog/DPDK-releases-v19-05-introduces-Windows-Support/ba-p/633927

By Harini Ramakrishnan 

Data Plane Development Kit recently issued the release of DPDK v19.05.

We are thrilled to share that this release marks the introduction of Windows Support in the community-maintained upstream repository! This exciting development paves the way for more core libraries and networking hardware to be supported on Windows lighting up new use cases.

DPDK is a set of fast packet-processing libraries and drivers for user-mode applications looking to optimize network performance.

DPDK logo.PNG

The Linux foundation hosted DPDK project is a vibrant, thriving community of developers from over 25 organizations spanning networking hardware vendors, independent software vendors, OS distros and consuming open source projects.

For over a year now, we’ve had the ability to run DPDK on Windows through libraries available in the DPDK Windows draft repository. However, this meant that the Windows port needed a separate development, build and testing pipeline, consequentially trailing behind the DPDK community project by multiple releases.

With the initiation of the merge, DPDK libraries for Windows will benefit from the participation, contribution and leadership of the DPDK community. For instance, as part of this integration, DPDK libraries for Windows moved away from dependency on proprietary tool chain to using Clang-LLVM C compiler and Meson Build system.

What Next?

Wait, does this mean we can retire the DPDK Windows draft repository? Not quite, yet!

The draft repository will continue to be the development vehicle for all contributions, until we attain parity in features at the main repository. The integration of Windows Platform support has been initiated with the release of DPDK v19.05 and is expected to continue through 2019.

Watch the Roadmap page for announcements on Core libraries, Poll Mode drivers and features that will be added in the subsequent releases. As sharedbefore, we are partnering with multiple networking vendors to expand the hardware ecosystem for DPDK on Windows.

Eventually, when the integration is complete, DPDK on Windows can remain stable, up to date enjoying the quality baseline as other platforms.

Ways to Contribute

Interested in participating? Help us make DPDK on Windows more stable!

Test the DPDK libraries on Windows and share your feedback! Head over to the getting started guide.

But wait this is just a Hello world! Looking for more? Try the Windows port at the DPDK-draft-Windows repository with the v18.08 branch and readme.

Do you have questions, feedback to share or want to report bugs? Do you have new use cases to support or want to make feature requests?

Write to us by registering for the DPDK development mail list dev@dpdk.org. Contribute patches under these guidelines, reference “dpdk-draft-windows” in contribution.

While we do our best to follow the forums used by the DPDK community, for quick direct access to the Microsoft Windows DPDK team, drop us an email at dpdkwin@microsoft.com.

Join us in the DPDK Windows Community call, under the guidance of the DPDK Technical Board to help shape the future of DPDK on Windows!

Thanks to the contributions from our partners at Intel and the DPDK Technical board for the guidance and the leadership.

Looking forward to hearing from you, Thanks for reading!