DPDK Release 21.02 is Now Available!

By February 16, 2021Blog

By Thomas Monjalon from the DPDK Tech Board 

The DPDK community has issued a new release, 21.02: https://fast.dpdk.org/rel/dpdk-21.02.tar.xz

It was a light period as February releases of the 2 previous years:

  •  941 commits from 140 authors
  •  1208 files changed, 53571 insertions(+), 21946 deletions(-)

There are no plans to start a maintenance branch for 21.02. This version is ABI-compatible with 20.11.

Note 1: you may need pyelftools to compile DPDK drivers.
Note 2: a cleanup made out-of-tree drivers more difficult to compile.

Below are some new features, grouped by category.

  • Networking
    • power management for core polling single ethdev queue
    •  generic modify action in flow API
    • GENEVE TLV option in flow API
    • Marvell OCTEON TX EP net PMD
    •  Virtio PMD rework
    •  Windows support of i40e and mlx5
  • Cryptography
    • callback API for enqueue/dequeue
  • Compression
    • Mellanox compress PMD
  •  Others
    • new pmdinfogen with Windows support

More technical details in the full release notes: https://doc.dpdk.org/guides/rel_notes/release_21_02.html

There are 34 new contributors (including authors, reviewers and testers).

Welcome to Andrew Boyer, Andrii Pypchenko, Ashish Sadanandan, Barry Cao, Dana Vardi, Dapeng Yu, Fabio Pricoco, Fei Chen, Francis Kelly, Fredrik A Lindgren, George Prekas, Jacek Bułatek, Jiawei Zhu, Kiran KN, Lingyu Liu, Louis Peens, Mateusz Pacuszka, Meir Levi, Milena Olech, Murphy Yang, Nalla Pradeep, Neel Patel, Odi Assli, Paolo Valerio, Peng He, Samik Gupta, Simon Ellmann, Somalapuram Amaranath, Subhi Masri, Szymon T Cudzilo, Tyler Retzlaff, Viacheslav Galaktionov, Wenjun Wu and Yongxin Liu.

Below is the percentage of commits per employer (with authors count):

Based on Reviewed-by and Acked-by tags, the top non-PMD reviewers are:

         31     Ruifeng Wang <ruifeng.wang@arm.com>
         29     Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
         25     David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
         23     Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>
         17     Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>
         16     Ori Kam <orika@nvidia.com>
         15     Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>
         13     Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>
         11     Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@nvidia.com>

The new features for 21.05 may be submitted until mid-March, in order to be reviewed and integrated before mid-April.

DPDK 21.05 should be released at mid-May: https://core.dpdk.org/roadmap#dates

Please share your features roadmap.

Thanks everyone, enjoy Spring Festival and Valentine’s Day, and let’s share as much love as we can.